Tuesday, November 07, 2006

Outer Planets & Vedic Astrology

One of the main differences between Indian astrology and western astrology is in the number of planets they use. Consider this:

Western Astrology uses: Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. (Total of 10)

Vedic Astrology uses: Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu & Ketu. (Total of 9)

Now which one of the above is correct and scientific? Give it a little thought and you can arrive at the conclusion yourself! 9 planets would be my contention. We need not use any more than 9 planets.

How many numbers does the base ten system of numbering have? Nine numbers (1 to 9). Can something go beyond nine? Do this simple test: Take any number and multiply it by 9. Add each of the digits of the product until it is reduced to a single digit. The result will be 9 always.

Example 1: Take 392, multiply by 9, the answer is 3528. Add all the digits until it is reduced to a single number. 3+5+2+8 = 18 = 1+8 = 9.

Example 2: Take 7396, multiply by 9 = 66564 = 6+6+5+6+4 = 27 = 2+7=9.

Only the number 9 has this unique property. Try this with any other digit and it will not work. 9 signifies the limit. You can’t go beyond 9. You do not need anything more than 9.

If you are still not convinced, how many colors does white light have? Seven. Each color for one planet. Vedic astrology uses these 7 for the inner planets and it adds two more, Rahu (moons north node) and Ketu (Moons south node) bringing the total to 9.

The outer planets Uranus, Neptune and Pluto are too distant to influence mankind. That is why they were left out of Jyotish. Already Jyotish has had one victory with the down grading of Pluto which is no longer considered a planet.

Western astrology has also given ruler ship of some signs to these outer planets. For example Pluto rules Scorpio according to western astrology. The noted astrologer Linda Goodman of yesteryears had said that 2 more planets are due to be discovered and they will rule Virgo and Taurus! Eventually it will be 12 signs and 12 planets according to western astrology. In Vedic astrology 2 zodiac sign are ruled by 1 planet. Mars for example rules Aries and Scorpio. In western astrology Mars rules only Aries and Scorpio is ruled by the now down graded Pluto.

It is not known if the sages of the past knew about the existence of outer planets but it is said that Maharishi Vyasa knew about the existence of Pluto. But nowhere are outer planets given sanction in India’s astrological texts. They are just not mentioned. Probably they are too far to influence man and that is why the sages ignored them. Even if vedic astrologers use these outer planets for prediction (a few vedic astrologers do) they will never ever give them lordship. Uranus can never rule Aquarius. Aquarius is ruled by Saturn in Jyotish. Neptune can never be given lordship of Pisces. Pisces is ruled by Jupiter in vedic astrology. Giving them lordship will destroy the fine way in which planets are ascribed lordships in hindu classical astrology. Vedic astrology on the other hands includes many other factors like the 27 Nakshatras (Fixed stars) and subsidiary planets like Maandi, Gulika, Dhuma, Vyatipati, Parivesha, Indra Chapa, Upaketu and Kala which are unheard of in western astrology.


A Pretty Weird World said...

The outer planets are of foremost importance in mundane astrology, renowned astrolger babaji laxman madan also says so. I have found that most astrology software do not provide outer planets, but Horoscope Explorer from www.itbix.com does that. In fact I got a 45 day trial and gave me very accurate results. Must recommend it.

Viraj said...

please tell me the easiest way to contact you..

need your help...

Neptunian said...

Please, before getting into vedic vs. western learn more about western astrology and especially it's esoteric side. The two planets to be discovered come from western esoteric teachings. And it is not true that in jyotish every planet rules two signs, as you know. The Sun and the Moon rule only one sign. I don't think this vedic vs. western does a favor to anyone. Why not learn fro eachother. Both systems have their strengths and weaknesses. Maybe read this also:

Best regards.

Seeba Alexander said...

before people start attacking vedic astrology please learn more about about it first. for in jyotish(vedic) only 5 inner planets rule two zodiac signs, but not for the sun & moon because they aren't really planets either way.

And if the west had hidden esoteric knowledge of two outer planets, the the same could be hinted by much older vedic texts also. two outer planets also move slower and are too far away, therefore its influences is weaker. Whatever effect seems to be only generational and sometimes even on individual psyche only, and thats about it.

western astrology lacks caution when dealing with outer planets, and thats a big weakness on their part. now Both systems has strengths and weaknesses, but vedic has more strengths while the westl has more weaknesses. knowledge behind vedic astrology is larger comparing to western counterpart, the reason behind all of this is because western astrology died many deaths in it long history.